Public Safety Advisory Council


  • 6:00 p.m.
  • Held on an as-needed basis
  • Westminster Police Department, 36 Locust Street, Westminster MD 21157
  • Phone: (410) 848-4646


The Council consists of 10 to 12 local community members with an interest in public safety.  Geographic diversity is taken into consideration in selecting the group’s members to ensure that all areas of the City are represented and have a voice.  Advisory Council members are committed to community engagement and collaboration and work in partnership with the Westminster Police Department to improve the quality of life in Westminster.  Current Advisory Council members are:

  • Mr. Ed Cramer, Chair
  • Tony Chiavacci, Common Council Representative
  • Kelly Chiavacci
  • Ann Gilbert
  • Janice Kispert
  • Christina Kuntz
  • Liz Towle

Non-Voting Members

The Advisory Council is assisted by two non-voting City staff members:

  • Barbara B. Matthews, City Administrator
  • Thomas Ledwell, Chief of Police

About the Public Safety Advisory Council

The Westminster Public Safety Advisory Council was established in early 2017 in an effort to more actively engage and collaborate with the community on issues relating to public safety.  The mission of the Advisory Council is to:

“Provide advice and counsel to the Chief, Mayor and Common Council on matters relating to law enforcement and public safety in the City.  The Council also serves as a conduit for open communication and community engagement on issues relating to crime and public safety.”

To fulfill its mission, the Advisory Council partners with community organizations such as homeowner’s associations, service clubs and business organizations.

Contact Information

 If you have thoughts that you would like to share, or if you would like to meet with a member of the Public Safety Advisory Council, please email

Council Documents